ARC Review: Summer Unscripted by Jen Klein

Title: Summer Unscripted

Author: Jen Klein

Published: 13 June 2017 | Random House

Date Read: 05 August 2017

Synopsis:

A summer romance about missed connections and how not to miss out on the love of your life. For fans of Deb Caletti, Sarah Dessen, and Jenny Han.

Girl looks for a sign. Enter: boy.

Rainie doesn’t have a “passion” like her friends do. She’s more of a dabbler—quick to give up and move on. But as graduation approaches, she wishes she had more direction. So when gorgeous Tuck gives a monologue that literally puts into words exactly how she’s been feeling lately, it’s a sign! Tuck is her passion. How could she not have seen it before?

Girl follows boy. Enter: second boy.

Rainie convinces her ex-BFF to let her work at the same summer job as Tuck. She’s got a foolproof plan to date him. But when she arrives, Rainie discovers things aren’t that simple. And she meets Milo, a super-cute boy who also works with her. A boy with a complicated past.

Girl needs to figure stuff out. Enter: drama.

*ARC Kindly provided by Penguin Random House for review*

Summer Unscripted is a light, quick and easy summer book to read.

“You’re a canoe. You’re floating. Aimless. You’re drifting. Getting knocked aslew by the waves of the speedboats rocketing past you. They all know where they’re going. They all have a plan. But you, you don’t.”

When one of her school’s most sought-after guy gave this monologue at school looking right in the eyes of Raine, she knew it’s a sign. A sign that she needs to follow him on a summer theater troupe even though she doesn’t know a bit about theater and the play itself.

Raine is the type of character that I easily relate to. She’s unsure and undecided on what to do with her life. She jumps from one thing to another and really having a hard time finding her niche in life. I’m way older than Raine and I still feel the same at times that’s why I easily relate to her.

Milo is a fun character. He’s a perfect guy throughout the story – decent and talented (onstage and offstage). I also like that the author made him Mexican-American inserting a bit of diversity into the book.

“I’m like a human skipping stone. Splashing across life’s surface, going after one thing and then another. Sure, I might make a lot of ripples, but they always disappear.”

Delving deeper into the book, I just wished it tackled more on the aspect of Raine being indecisive about things about her future instead of focusing majority of her time in her boy-drama. This might also be a good time to mend broken fences with her friend Ella.

Overall, the story was okay. The writing is witty and engaging. The whole summer heather vibe was captured by the author including the dramas, competition and even the hook-ups. The pacing was also quick and though the story was quite predictable it is still fun to read.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Summer Unscripted by Jen Klein

  1. Em says:

    This sounds like a cute, quick read! I don’t know if it’s quite for me (considering I’m not a huge fan of contemporary), but it does sound like it has some promise! Great review!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s