ARC Review: Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

Title: Girl Out of Water

Author: Laura Silverman

Published: 02 May 2017 | Sourcebooks Fire

Date Read: 13 May 2017

Synopsis:

Anise Sawyer plans to spend every minute of summer with her friends: surfing, chowing down on fish tacos drizzled with wasabi balsamic vinegar, and throwing bonfires that blaze until dawn. But when a serious car wreck leaves her aunt, a single mother of three, with two broken legs, it forces Anise to say goodbye for the first time to Santa Cruz, the waves, her friends, and even a kindling romance, and fly with her dad to Nebraska for the entire summer. Living in Nebraska isn’t easy. Anise spends her days caring for her three younger cousins in the childhood home of her runaway mom, a wild figure who’s been flickering in and out of her life since birth, appearing for weeks at a time and then disappearing again for months, or even years, without a word.

Complicating matters is Lincoln, a one-armed, charismatic skater who pushes Anise to trade her surfboard for a skateboard. As Anise draws closer to Lincoln and takes on the full burden and joy of her cousins, she loses touch with her friends back home – leading her to one terrifying question: will she turn out just like her mom and spend her life leaving behind the ones she loves

*ARC Kindly provided by Sourcebooks Fire thru Edelweiss for review*

The Girl Out of the Water is one of my most anticipated books this year. The first few pages seems a bit slow for me but reaching the 15% mark and I immediately plowed thru the book.

Anise is our main character who loves surfing. To say she loves surfing is an understatement because Anise and the waves flowed as one whenever she surfs. She’s athletic and competitive which I immediately saw on the first pages of the book.

“How much will I miss while I’m gone? What if so much changes and I don’t even recognize home?”

For this summer, she has everything planned – from surfing the waves, planning the yearly summer party and saying goodbye to some of her friends that are bound for college and joining the military.

Anise has never traveled out of town, she’s a true-blue Santa Cruz Girl. Until an accident happened and summer plans was put into a halt. Her aunt residing in the land-lock state of Nebraska was into an accident and Anise and her dad are bound to help. There’s no ocean and waves in Nebraska and none of her friends were there.

“I know I should want to go, I should want to help my family. But knowing and wanting are two very different things.”

I can see myself in Anise – comforted by the familiar things and is a bit afraid of changes. I understand where she’s coming from especially on how she feels when her summer plans were suddenly changed. The ocean was Anise’s comfort zone and when she finds herself landlocked in the middle of Nebraska she doesn’t know what to do. Without the water and surfing she feels like she’s losing herself.

But despite all of that and after all the attitude and even though she did have a hard time coming into terms on the changes on her summer plans, she did manage to help her dad, her aunt and her cousins. I think that summer helped Anise grow and move out of her own shell.

Just like your normal teenager, she may come off as flighty and have the “I don’t care in the world” attitude but she’s struggling with several personal issues. She has an abandonment issues with her mom.  Her mom who is an absentee wife and a wrecking force who goes in and out of Anise and her dad’s life without notice, not caring what destruction she leaves in her wake. I really appreciate how this issue was also handled on this book. It was heartbreaking and tough.

The story was also filled some amazing set of characters who are there to help Anise achieve her happy summer.

Anise’s father is great. Though he’s the one who has been under the spell of Anise’s mom and experienced her wrath tenfold, he didn’t let that deteriorate that love he has for Anise. He worked hard and bring Anise up greatly. I really appreciate how open he is with his daughter. He’s one of the best dad characters I’ve read!

I also appreciate the participation on Anise’s cousins. Though they are all young, they were able to contribute a part in the story that makes it whole.

“Disabilities are a part of us, but they are in no way our full definition.”

I really like Lincoln. He’s one-armed, straight-forward, fun, polite and talented especially on skateboarding. Lincoln is a nice guy. The skateboard place at the park was his turf. His attitude was so infectious and I really like how his character was built up. He’s also sensitive in way that he knows when to deal or say things at the right time.

Lincoln and Anise’ chemistry was so on point. They have their similarities and differences which I think makes them for compatible for each other. I really enjoy their bickering and skateboarding moments.

As to story progressed more, I wanted Anise to resolve her issues. I wanted for her to find healing with the help of her dad, aunt, cousins, friend and Lincoln because she truly deserves it.

“Home isn’t a place. It’s people. And I’ve always been with my people.”

The topic of family has played a huge part into this story. I really love how Anise’s family dynamics was written. They are not perfect but they are an inspiration. I’m so happy how Anise’s story turned out. She grew and learned. It was a tough and shaky journey but everything did work out well.

“One day, years from now, when these memories have blended together, I won’t remember the time I missed Eric’s wipeout or the time I missed Cassie’s dance recital, I’ll just remember I grew up with a group of really amazing friends.”

Overall, I really enjoyed reading The Girl Out of The Water. It was interesting, touching, realistic and relatable. The ending was a bit open but it was a good conclusion to the story. This is another lovely coming of age story.

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

  1. ashley says:

    I loved how realistic and relatable this book was when I read it! I also loved how family played a huge part in this book, I feel like family and families need to be more present in YA contemporary, so this book was a breath of fresh air with that aspect.

Leave a Reply

