Blog Tour & ARC Review + Giveaway: The Color Project by Sierra Abrams

Title: The Color Project

Author: Sierra Abrams

Published: 18 July 2017 | Gatekeeper Press

Date Read: 12 June 2017

Synopsis:

Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn’t want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee’s summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.

Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble |  Book Depository  

I don’t know how to start writing my review for this book. Even after a week I finished reading it (and recommending it to my bookish friends) The Color Project still left me at lost for words. So, basically, I’m going to just gush all my feels about this book over this review!

The Color Project started out okay for me. We have our main character Bee who despises using her real name and lives with her loving parents and siblings. The first few pages felt familiar as to what your typical YA story would be especially that first meet-up with Levi.

“I notice that his eyes are a light brown, almost golden. And then I try to un-notice because those eyes are still looking right at me.”

Okay, that first meet-up was cute and immediately made me gush about Bee and Levi, but it was your typical YA first-meet. But then, as I go on to the pages, I was immediately sucked into this wonderful world of Bee and Levi and The Color Project and from then and there I was invested all in.

The characters that were introduced were all wonderful. I easily connected with them. I feel their every feel – happiness and pain.

I love Bee because she’s the sweetest. Though I might have disagreed on her decisions and actions on the latter parts of the book, I completely understand her. In all honesty, I see myself on her several times into the book – especially with her being a hopeless romantic, a book pusher and having a unique bond with her dad. She’s a very relatable character that was well written.

Levi is such a sweet-heart! I love how despite his young-age he accomplished a huge thing. I really admire his will to help people that are in need.

“The world spins, and I feel pain everywhere, and I die a little bit inside with every tear I shed, so that I’m left feeling like a husk, empty, ruined, devoured.”

It is hard to tell what happened on the latter part of the books without spoiling anything but let me tell you that it is complicated and painful. But don’t fret because everything will turn out okay and you will be leaving the world of The Color Project with a bunch of hope in your hands. The story is sad, yes, it is, but it was told beautifully.

“Who said you aren’t allowed to get lost every once on a while? I love you, lost or found.”

The Color Project is a story about different kinds of love and holding on to that love especially at times of unimaginable pain and sorrow. I love Sierra’s writing especially the way she has shown the authenticity and realness of the story.

Overall, I’m truly grateful to read this book. Hands-down one of the best books I’ve read this year. I had a great time reading this book. I laughed and cried but as I’ve said, I ended up feeling revived and holding a bunch of hope after. I can’t wait for all of you guys to read this as well.

At 7 years old, Sierra Abrams decided that one day she would publish a book. For over a decade, in between exploring other career options, she kept coming back to that very first dream. Now her life consists of writing books of all kinds… Kissing books, angsty books, killing books, whimsical books, and sometimes books that are all of the above. When she’s not writing, you can find her reading, traveling, consuming sushi, or daydreaming about Henry Cavill.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

  • Get a chance to win a finished copy of The Color Project! 🙂 


7 thoughts on “Blog Tour & ARC Review + Giveaway: The Color Project by Sierra Abrams

  1. LairOfBooks says:

    Loved you review Karla, just enough to spark my interest & leave me wondering. I’ve seen this book make its rounds on Twitter but never took it upon myself to see what it was about. Yours is the 1st review I’m reading for it & I’m now adding to my shorter TBR. I’m always looking for books that have positive representation for the parentals, especially the Dads since those are few & far between. I’m also always up for a good cry lol so this is right up my alley 😉

    • Karlaamae - Reads and Thoughts says:

      Thank you so much! I actually saw it first on twitter as well and immediately picked my interest. I’m excited for you to read this wonderful book and I hope you’d enjoy it as much as I did. 💜

      And Oh my! Me too, I’m always up for a good cry with books. 😂

      • LairOfBooks says:

        Oh awesome! I’m def interested in this one, I keep hearing such great reviews so that’s def motivation enough. I don’t know what it is about books that bring that waterworks that feels so satisfying every once in a while 😂

Leave a Reply

