ARC Review: Deacon Locke Went to Prom by Brian Katcher

Title: Deacon Locke Went to Prom

Author: Brian Katcher

Published: 09 May 2017 | Katherine Tegen Books

Date Read: 13 May 2017

Synopsis:

In this funny, offbeat, and smile-inducing contemporary romance from award-winning author Brian Katcher, the love life of an awkward teen takes an unforgettable turn after he brings his grandmother to prom.

Promposals are taking over Deacon Locke’s high school and there is no place left to hide. But even with graduation looming, shy and unusually tall Deacon doesn’t think he can get up the nerve to ask anyone to the dance. Especially given all the theatrics.

It isn’t until Deacon confides in his witty and outgoing best friend Jean that he realizes should could be a great person to take. Only problem is Jean isn’t your typical prom date. She’s older. A lot older. And she’s Deacon’s grandmother.

But when Deacon meets Soraya—a girl unlike any other he’s ever met—he fears he has totally squandered his chances of having a prom he’ll never forget. Deacon couldn’t be more wrong. About everything.

*ARC Kindly provided by Katherine Tegen Books thru Edelweiss for review*

Deacon Locke is probably one of the awkward-est but cutest characters I’ve ever encountered and his story is as well one of the cutest & simplest story I’ve read this year!

Deacon Locke Went To Prom is a story about a shy guy who decided to bring his grandma to his prom and ended up being instantly internet famous. Ohhh, yes, that quick. This is not the first insta-internet-famous story I’ve read. There are several YA books with the same insta-internet-famous plot line. I think, this goes to show how influential the social media is really getting right now.

Anyway, back to the story. The story flowed smoothly for me but I was just a bit left perplexed by the thought of Deacon not owning a cellphone and having no interest with social media. There might be some millennials – like Deacon – that may not be interested in social media but not owning a cellphone? Hmmm.

The first part of the story focuses on Deacon’s Prom dilemma while the second half is a bit more personal and emotional for me. I love how the story transitioned from focusing on the normal teenage dilemma such as prom then proceeding to turn the story into stuffs that I guess is more serious.

On to the characters, there’s only a handful of characters introduced but they all captured my interest!

I loved Deacon and I want to hug him for the entire duration of the story. He’s awkward and I really liked him. With Deacon, what you see is what you get. He’s a bit of a nerd when it comes to astronomy, has a dry sense of humor but over all a very good guy.

Elijah – Deacon’s friend is such a sweetheart as well and I really liked how he’s pushing Deacon out of his shell. Soraya is the love interest in the story but since the story doesn’t really revolve on the love story aspect of it we only get a few glimpses of Soraya here and there (but don’t fret there’s a HEA here *wink*). Jean – Deacon’s grandmother also captured my heart. She’s a great character and though her love and support for Deacon isn’t really shown verbally, you can see thru the actions she’s making for him that he do love our main guy.

“Like the universe, my future is limitless. And like the universe, my future is mostly uncharted and kind of scary.”

In all, Deacon’s story was cute, plain and simple. More than everything, this is a coming of age book with Deacon deciding what he wants for his life and his future.

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Deacon Locke Went to Prom by Brian Katcher

  1. Aly says:

    Oh my goodness, this sounds like so much fun! I don’t read many contemporaries (like a couple a year, oops) but I’m going to add this to my TBR. It sounds like an excellent pick-me-up 🙂

    Lovely review, Karla! ❤

Leave a Reply

