US vs UK Book Covers

Let’s all be honest, book covers always plays a role whenever we choose something to read. It’s a break it or make it moment at times. When I started blogging, I keep wondering why does a book have different covers? Why is there a need to have different covers when what is inside will be just the same? Good thing, I found an article online (which I can no longer find right now) that one of the reason behind the difference in the covers is because of the market. UK and US markets has different taste in colors and graphics thus the difference in book covers.

Last April, I did the Dream Book Covers Tag where I listed several of my favorite book covers.  Today, I’m doing another post – still related to book covers – but focuses on the difference between US and UK Book covers and which I loved more. 😉

Note: US Book Covers are on the left screen side while UK Book Covers are on the right screen side.

A Thousand Nights (A Thousand Nights, #1) by E.K. Johnston

I loved the purple back drop of both covers but I appreciated more the details and graphic play made on the US Cover.

And I Darken (The Conqueror’s Saga, #1) by Kiersten White

I haven’t read this book yet (I know, It’s a shame I haven’t read this) so I don’t have a bit of an idea what’s the relevance of the cover to the story. But my eyes are making heart-eyes on the US Cover. Don’t take this the wrong way but I’m actually not a big fan of book covers with people in it.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I loved the UK Cover of Caraval and I loved Caraval! I guess it’s a tie between these two covers. But they do have a limited UK Edition where the hardcovers  have special graphics on the front cover when you removed the jacket. Please do check it our here.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

I’ve always been in love with Marissa Meyer’s books and her book covers. For this specific book, hands down, it’s the US Cover. I loved all the thorny-stems and the color play between black and white. The UK Cover didn’t appeal greatly to me.

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

This one will be a tie. I loved both the covers and the minimalist in me is happy dancing!! I love the simplicity of both the covers and how it greatly depicts what is inside the book as well.

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by Stephanie Perkins

This is one of my favorite Christmas Anthology book and I really do love both covers! I loved the holiday vibes it  gave and the light but vibrant colors used.

Nevernight (The Nevernight Chronicle, #1) by Jay Kristoff

Both covers gave me creepy vibes! Again, I wasn’t able to read this book yet so I really don’t know the relevance of the graphics to the story but I really appreciate it. This one will be a tie on both covers.

Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands, #1) by Alwyn Hamilton

I own the US Cover copy and I could definitely say that it was soooo beautiful. The metallic gold and blue colors are of great combination.

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

Whenever I see the US Book cover it never fails to remind me of The Empire State Building. Anyway, between these two, I could say that the UK cover was pretty but the US Cover captured my attention more than the UK one.

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1) by Victoria Schwab

Both covers scream “mystery” just like what this story is about. The graphics on both covers are relevant to the story so I guess, this one’s a tie as well.


You, which of the covers above you like best? Which other books can you add up on this list? Please do leave your comments below. 💜

20 thoughts on “US vs UK Book Covers

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    I agree with most of your choices! The Rebel in the Sands one is the ARC…UK peeps get to keep the cover on the left and we get a new cover set with a chick on it holding a bow. I have the old one but I’d like the copy of Traitor to the Throne that’s pink…but apparently only U.K. people got that one so now my set won’t match. I HATE mid-series cover changes!

  2. yawednesdays says:

    Let’s just simplify and say I WANT ALL OF THESE. And in the case of Rebel of the Sands and My True Love Gave to Me, I have both. Book-buying is a problem for me, obviously.

  3. Paige @ Between Reality says:

    Wow!! This is such a cool article. It never occurred to me that the US and the UK would have different covers for their books. I’ve seen the different covers/versions listed on Goodreads for certain books, but I always assumed it was because they updated the cover. I’ve learned something new about the book world!

  4. ChicNerdReads says:

    I agree with you so much! I wish that for USA Caraval it was the inside of the UK special edition with the outside USA flap because that would’ve been AMAZING.
    I also don’t like people on the covers 95% of the time. It really depends on the book.
    Great post ❤

  5. Marie says:

    Lovely post! It’s so funny how they often change the covers for the books, I wonder why and sometimes it makes me a bit sad because so many of these covers look gorgeous, and when they change it, it’s well…not so gorgeous anymore. Like the Heartless cover – I loved the US one but I’m not a fan of the UK one either – same goes for And I Darken 🙂
    I love both I’ll Give You The Sun, though, I’d want to own both editions ahah 🙂

Leave a Reply

