Review: Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Title: Tell Me Three Things

Author: Julie Buxbaum

Published: 05 April 2016 | Delacorte Press

Date Read: 16 April 2017

Synopsis:

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel filled with characters who will come to feel like friends.

Tell Me Three Things is probably one of the fastest book I’ve read this year. I read it about a week ago, in one sitting (roughly 4-5 hours) and GAAAAAA I’m totally fan-girling about this book because it was so so so good and amazing!!!

“My mom once told me that the world is divided into two kinds of people: the ones who love their high school years and the ones who spend the next decade recovering from them.”

Jessie’s first week at her fancy new school was a disaster. Transferring from Chicago to Los Angeles, it’s been a huge transition. Add in the fact that her mother died two years ago, and her dad remarried a fancy-rich girl from LA. It’s been a rough start for Jessie. Until she received an email from an anonymous person who refer to himself as “Somebody/Nobody or SN”. As SN said, navigating the wilds of Wood Valley High School ain’t easy and that’s the reason he initiated sending an email to Jessie to help her navigate the jungle in the concrete city.

I loved Jessie. She’s an amazing character. She’s still grieving the loss of her mother (she actually know the exact number of days since she died) and I do feel her pain, hurt and anger. As the story progress, we get to know who Jessie really is. She looks strong and confident on the outside but inside she’s trying her best not to show her weaknesses. I love her wit and intelligence. She’s one of the most amazing characters I’ve read.

The secondary characters also played an amazing part in the story. Dri, Agnes and even Theo – Jessi’s new step-brother, I have come to love as well.

Of course, the story will not be complete without the romance and I enjoy each page of that said romance. I enjoy how Jessie and SN’s virtual relationship really worked. Their connection is palpable and I really enjoy their everyday conversations especially when they started this tell-me-three-things game.

I’m also hooked with the whole chase on who really SN is in real-life. I have my suspects or erm guesses who SN really is that’s why I’m quite afraid if it isn’t who I thought it is. But luckily, my guess is right!!! Yay!! I loved SN and I can say that I loved who he is IRL (if that’s not spoiling or anything). Another plus point for me is that there is no love triangle or any complications like that. The romance is linear and I loved it and I’m swooning over it!

“Were all better versions if ourselves when we get extra time to craft the perfect message.”

I really admire the overall message of the story about familial relationships as well as school relationships. Overall, I totally enjoyed each page of Tell Me Three Things, I will definitely be on the look out for the future works of Julie Buxbaum.

PS. Before reading this, I just finished Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda and I’m surprised that I’ll be facing another story with a virtual romance but I’m not surprised that I loved it just as much as I loved Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda. *wink*

Leave a Reply

