Blog Tour & ARC Review: Lost Rider (Coming Home #1) by Harper Sloan

Title: Lost Rider (Coming Home #1)

Author: Harper Sloan

Published: 25 April 2017 | Pocket Books

Date Read: 18 January 2017

Synopsis:

In Lost Rider, the first Western romance in New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Harper Sloan’s Coming Home series, an injured rodeo star encounters an old flame but will she be just what he needs to get back in the saddle?

Maverick Austin Davis is forced to return home after a ten-year career as a rodeo star. After one too many head injuries, he’s off the circuit and in the horse farming business, something he’s never taken much of a shine to, but now that it’s his late father’s legacy, familial duty calls. How will Maverick find his way after the only dream he ever had for himself is over?

Enter Leighton Elizabeth James, an ugly duckling turned beauty from Maverick’s childhood—his younger sister’s best friend, to be exact, and someone whose heart he stomped all over when she confessed her crush to him ten years back. Now Leighton is back in Maverick’s life, no longer the insecure, love-stricken teen—and Maverick can’t help but take notice. Sparks fly between them, but will Leighton be able to open her heart to the one man who broke it all those years ago?

Written in the vein of Diana Palmer and Lindsay McKenna, this Texas-set series is filled with sizzle, heart, and plenty of cowboys!

*ARC Kindly provided by Pocket Books thru Edelweiss for review*

Harper Sloan and her books has been one of my guilty-pleasure reads for quite aome time now. Whenever I’m craving for something cheesy, angst-y and romance-y read, her books are my go-to. I enjoyed reading (and re-reading) her Corps Security and Hope Town Series and I’m so excited and will not miss reading her new series – Coming Home – with its first novel The Lost Rider.

The Lost Rider follows the story of Maverick and Leighton. These two has sizzling chemistry way back when they were in High school. But circumstances happen….

“Bull riding is one of the two things in my life that bring peace. I was meant to ride just as I was meant to draw air in my lungs to live.”

Maverick’s dream is to become a famous and successful bull rider. After experiencing a very tough and hard childhood He’s dead set to leave town and follow his dreams without being pulled back by his own father. That was ten years ago, now, with the end of his bull riding career and the death of his father he’s back to the town he never thought of setting foot again.

To Maverick, going home doesn’t only mean visiting and seeing his siblings. It also means revisiting the past ghosts and facing again the girl he left but never wanted to.

Leighton has been crushing (big time) on Maverick for a long time now.  Maverick is Quinn – her best friend’s – older brother but that didn’t stop the feelings that blossomed into her for Maverick. Ten years ago, Maverick stomped and broke her heart, but now she’s the epitome of a strong, independent woman. She make’s life for herself and found happiness  in making her mom’s dream come true which is by opening her own pie store – The Pie Hole.

“I might have been the king of rodeo after that, but I did it with a dead heart that no one came close to touching”.

The story was told in alternating POV’s of Maverick and Leighton which I really enjoyed because I get to read and see the story from the perspective of our two main characters. I’m quite hesitant with Maverick at first. He’s so silent and keeps everything to himself. But reading on his POV gives me a clarity on why he left and why he did those things. Things that really did a domino effect on other things that happened on the book.

On the other hand, Leighton is such an easy character to read about. She wears her heart on her sleeves. She’s thoughtful, loving, kind but strong and stubborn as well. I think there’s no better people ending up than these two.

“It’s hard to forget the pain of the past when the memories still shine bright. He might be long gone, but his shadow will never leave this town.”

The story also transitioned from the past and the present. The flashbacks give us a first-hand feel and idea on what happened between these two way back ten years ago. I find it really interesting that despite their time apart their feelings stay the same. Just like the old saying goes “If its love, its love, right?”

The story flowed smoothly. The angst that is ever present to each and every Harper Sloan books was very low and little on this book. Not only it focuses on the second chance at love of Maverick and Leighton it also focuses on the second-chance relationship between Maverick and his siblings Clay and Quinn. Though they were reunited by an unfortunate event, it was nice seeing them seek and get to know each other again after the longest time they’ve been apart.

A little thing I wanted this book to have is for it to include more dialogues between the characters and other people within the story world. There are a lot more internal monologues, I guess.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading The Lost Rider. I can’t wait to read about Quinn’s story on the next book! If you’re looking for something cheesy and romance-y read with a little angst on the side, pick this one up!

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s