Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Title: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Author: Becky Albertalli

Published: 07 April 2015 | Balzer + Bray

Date Read: 13 April 2017

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

I’ve been seeing a lot of posts and write-ups from my bookish friends gushing about Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda. I’m scared to read it because of the “hype” it is surrounded with especially now that it is being made into a movie. But after several hard teasing and egging, I finally pick this one up and read it and OH MY GOD I’m literally so happy that I finally read it!!

“And you know what? You don’t get to say it’s not a big thing. This is a big fucking thing, okay? This was supposed to be—this is mine. I’m supposed to decide when and where and who knows and how I want to say it.”

Simon Spier – sixteen-year-old, high school junior, Harry Potter fan, Oreo Lover and Gay. But no one knows about that last part. Yet. Simon is a very likeable and charming character. He’s the type of gay that I really wanted to be friends with. He’s fun, smart and have a great sense of humor.  From the very first chapter, we already saw him struggling with the personality he’s trying to hide to his friends and family. But there is a little sunshine on Simon’s life – his email chatting buddy under the pseudonym – Blue.

That is until he finds himself being blackmailed by his classmate Martin. Martin discover Simon’s secret when he accidentally stumbles into Simon’s open email account at the Library Computer Hall. He’s threatening to post the emails on the school Tumblr page if Simon will not agree to fix him with Simon’s close friend Abby.

To say this book made me smile from beginning to end is an understatement. I devoured each page. I feel myself getting more and more excited as the story goes.

I really ate up and love the mystery that is Blue – the smart, grammar nerd who Simon has been chatting with. I don’t have even the littlest idea who Blue is (the reveal was so surprising) and I guess that makes my reading experience more exciting.

Though the only communication they have is thru their email exchanges, Simon and Blue have a lot of cute and adorable moments. I’m living with their email exchanges and salivates over their talk and common love for Oreos. Simon feels that he can be his real self with Blue. He finds himself confiding and telling cute random things to Blue. Their email banters are everything! I always do the “squeee” expression especially when there’s some flirting going on. *wink*wink*

Aside from our two main characters, Simon’s friends and family also played a huge part in the story. I really appreciate the unique characters of Nick, Abby and Lea. I do love Simon’s family – his parents and sisters – and their love for TV Shows and random family games and activities. These people made Simon’s coming out easier than he thought so. I really appreciate the support and the acceptance that they have given him. Without any questions.

“People really are like houses with vast rooms and tiny windows. And maybe it’s a good thing, the way we never stop surprising each other.”

Another thing I really liked about reading Simon vs The Homo Sapiens agenda is there no unnecessary big drama, unwanted turn of events or whatsoever. It was straight up to the point of the story which is all about Simon, Blue, their family, friends and school.  It is a great LGBT story that offer us a window for the voice of the teens on the same situation as Simon and Blue.

Simon vs The Homo Sapiens deserves all the hype and attention it is getting. A definite must read for everyone. Now that the movie is in the works, I’m so excited to see all the characters I met here really come to life.

4 thoughts on “Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

  1. Kat says:

    I am apprehensive about trying this novel. I suppose it’s because of the hype, so it heightens my expectations, and that it is about a gay white character, which while that is good, does seem like the majority of LGBT genre. Having said that, from the books that I’ve read featuring the same, they have been mediocre at best – due to the lack of writing style or complex characters – and Simons VS the Homo Sapiens Agenda does sound as though it will be good in all aspects.

  2. Shoto says:

    I finished this recently and I loved it too! I kind of guessed who Blue was in the start and was so happy that I was right 😛 Their emails were adorable!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

