ARC Review: The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Title: The Inexplicable Logic of My Life

Author: Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Published: 07 March 2017 | Clarion Books

Date Read: 13 March 2017

Synopsis:

The first day of senior year:

Everything is about to change. Until this moment, Sal has always been certain of his place with his adoptive gay father and their loving Mexican-American family. But now his own history unexpectedly haunts him, and life-altering events force him and his best friend, Samantha, to confront issues of faith, loss, and grief.

Suddenly Sal is throwing punches, questioning everything, and discovering that he no longer knows who he really is—but if Sal’s not who he thought he was, who is he?

*ARC Kindly provided by HMH Books for Young Readers for review*

My love for Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is unexplainable. I easily fell in love with Ari and Dante and their world. I’m eagerly waiting for Benjamin Alire Saenz’s new work and I consider myself one of the lucky ones to get an ARC of The Inexplicable Logic of my Life.

I’ve finished reading this book for over two weeks now and as I’m writing this review it feels like I just read the book a while ago. The feels and love still feels so new. I loved Sam, Sal, Fito and probably everything about this book.

I can probably say that this book has one of the most memorable set of characters that I have encountered. In the span of 400+ pages I was able read the different life experiences of the characters. It’s so easy to connect to them and in the end so hard to say goodbye as well.

Sal is ready to start is senior year anew but circumstances happened. Salvador is trying to find himself – who he really is amidst the anxiety, sadness, tragedy and loss he’s currently encountering.

Samantha is Sal’s best friend. She’s independent and a “know-it-all” but you can’t help but really like and love her. Her relationship with Sal is so adorable. They are like two peas in a pod but so much different like two sides of a coin, but these differences that they have complement each other that’s why they had a great relationship. I was rooting for them to be romantically involved at the beginning, but as I go on reading, I find myself realizing that these two people are so much more better off as friends because the strong friendship and foundation that they have are all sisterly/brotherly type.

“But see, it’s not where I come from that matters – it’s where I’m going.”

Completing the trio of friends is Fito. The guy from the wrong side of the track that comes from an abusive family. I just want to hug Fito the whole time. He’s fun and happy on the outside but struggling on the inside. I really salute him because even though he comes from an abusive family he supports himself and still has the determination to finish school for him to succeed in life.

Once again, Benjamin Alire Saenz features an LGBT character who is Sal’s father Vicente.  I loved him so much! I’m really amazed by his pure-heartedness. He’s so loving and warm, kind, understandable. He’s just the greatest father material that I’ve read.

Family is one of the main highlight of this book. The familial relationship was made beautifully. The families are far from perfect but reading the good side and the bad side gives the story a realistic feel to it. The topic of loss was also highlighted on the story. It shows how family handles the hardship of losing someone.

  1. Aside from the characters and the topics, the writing style of this book was also quite noticeable. It’s different comparing it to Aristotle and Dante. Each chapter is like Sal’s diary –filled with randomish thoughts. It took me awhile to get used to the world building and the writing itself but when I was in – I can no longer get out. I was hooked with Sal’s story. In all honesty, the story feels like it doesn’t really have an actual plot. You don’t know what to expect and what will/might happen. But a lot happened. Goes to show that Benjamin Alire Saenz is a brilliant writer.

“People died every day. And people lived they lives every day. There were always survivors in the aftermath of all that death. And I was one of those survivors.”

The Inexplicable Logic of my Life is a love story. A love between father and child, mother and child, grandmother and grandson and best friends. This story is so full of different kinds of love. Reading this is like an educational trip to different kinds of love and loss.

Overall, it was a great reading experience. I loved how the story ended (despite all the loss that the characters had), it has closure. The story really captured my heart (it now earned a place on it). I’m so looking forward in hopefully reading more about Sal, Sam and Fito. Who knows? Maybe we’ll be able to get more of them right

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

  1. LairOfBooks says:

    Wonderful review Karla! I love how Benjamin Alire Saenz gives us such amazing characters/development in his books, they may not be plot driven but he gives you so much more. I can’t wait to get around to reading this one myself, I just loved Ari & Dante so much that I’m also excited for the follow up to that book. Happy reading 😉

    • Karlaamae - Reads and Thoughts says:

      Thank you! 😊💕 And I definitely agree with you that Benjamin Alite Saenz really do give us amazing characters. I loved Sal and the whole group of characters on this book. Please do let me know once you get around in reading this and perhaps chat and share thoughts. 😉

      • LairOfBooks says:

        I’m looking forward to possibly gaining another fave character from his books, Sal sounds interesting. I will def come around for a chat once I get to it, pretty excited to see that its been well received already 😉

Leave a Reply

