Popular books I haven’t read

popularbooksihaventread

Happy weekend everyone! How was your weekend so far? Hope you’re doing great!    So, today, here on the blog I came up with a post of several popular books that I haven’t had the chance to read yet. Each year, a lot of great books are released plus I really have a bad case of “waiting for the final book to be released so I could binge-read the whole series” thing thus there are plenty of popular books and especially series that I was not able to read yet.

So, to cut the waiting short now, here are several popular books I haven’t read yet:

border

 dsomseries

Shades of Magic Series by V.E. Schwab

I was introduced to V.E Scwab because of her novel This Savage Song which was released just last year. I loved This Savage Song thus resulting in me stalking the author and her works and I stumble on her novel A Darker Shade of Magic Series. I realized that this has been out since 2015 and for some reason just out of my radar. The plot looks so interesting as it involves fantasy stuffs as well! The third book – A Conjuring of Light –  is set to be released this year so I might just wait for it to be released and just binge-read the series soon.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Last year, Jennifer Niven visited Manila. I went to her signing event and was lucky enough to meet her and get my book signed. But even after her event, I still haven’t had the chance to read All the Bright Places. This has been on my TBR for quite some time now but for some reason, I haven’t had the urge to pick this one up yet. Maybe because of the impression that something tragic or sad or heavy lies on the pages of this book – and I’m scared. Since I’m joining #BeatTheBackListChallenge this year I’m hoping I’ll get to read this. Finally.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

I like Fangirl so I was excited to get my hands on Carry On once I heard the news that Simon and Baz will have their own book! But unfortunately, I haven’t had the chance to get into Simon and Baz’s own story. In addition to this, I have read several reviews with just a so-so feels into it. So, I’m kinda in between yet If I should still pick this one up.

ifs12

Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa

I remember a close friend of mine recommending this series way back 2012. Who wouldn’t be tempted to read this? What with the colorful and pretty cover plus the interesting plot? I remember that way back in 2012 Fantasy books are very “in” and this is definitely one of those must-read series out there but I guess series just become too long for me to catch-up on so up until now I still haven’t had the chance to read any of the books from the series.
mppcs

Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children Series by Ransom Riggs

 I started reading the first book on the series back in 2014 but sadly the storytelling and the plot didn’t work out for me. Plus, I’m really not into horror like stories so I’ll probably never be able to read this series. 😔

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Now, this book is what I’m excited to read for this year. I love Jay Kristoff’s writing on the Illuminae Series and not only because of the hype that I wanted to read this book, the intriguing plot and the great reviews about this book has sold it to me. Oh and this will also be a series/trilogy, no news yet when the next books will be released.
pjlo

Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan

BOO, Karla! You haven’t read this series yet? – Nope I haven’t read the Percy Jackson series yet which I know is such a shame. I don’t have a valid reason as to why I haven’t read this yet but time and interest has not been friendly to each other whenever I’m thinking of picking this one up. 
trcs

Raven Cycle Series by Maggie Stiefvater

Another series that has been recommended by another close friend of mine. I’ve read a lot of positive notes about this series and I’m really excited to get my hands on it it. I already have the first two books and saving up to get the next two so I can finally complete the set and finally start binge-reading it. *wink*
rqs

Red Queen Series by Victoria Aveyard

I started reading the first book Red Queen but I remember not feeling it that time so I put it down. Now, 2 years later and I still haven’t finished the first book. And just when I thought that King’s Cage is the last book on this series, I saw on Goodreads that a fourth books is currently in the works. So, should I wait for the fourth book or should I start reading the one’s that are released? Hmmm.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

I saw the blurb of this book in Goodreads and immediately added it up on my TBR. Plus this line really captured my interest: “Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.” Anyway, since this book is on this list, I still haven’t read it. Hopefully soon. Before even the movie that is in the works be released.
twcs

The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski

I actually waited for the last book – The Winner’s Kiss –  to be released before I started reading this series. I finished The Winner’s Curse moved into The Winner’s Crime however I remember putting it down – to make way for a new book that caught my interest (Yes, it happens) — and sadly I was not able to pick it back up again.
togs

Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

One of the most popular series and I know a lot of you will be asking “Why haven’t you read it yet?” Well, I don’t know why?! Maybe I just need someone to really really really pushed me into reading this series. 😛

us

Unearthly Series by Cynthia Hand

Unearthly Series has been on my radar for almost 5 long years now and still I haven’t read it. Lol. 😂 But if/when I had the chance I’ll still try to pick this one up.
vas

Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead

Way back 2010 or 2011 when I was still madly in love with The Twilight Series or any vampire related stories, I started reading Vampire Academy. This has been a very addicting reading phase for me but over the course of time I think I outgrew the series. I finished until the third book and left it there. I’m still interested on how the story progressed over the next books so I’m not closing my doors that maybe I’ll still be able to finish it.
twatd

Wrath & the Dawn Series by Renee Ahdieh

One of the series I’m really excited about however I want not able to read yet.  This has been on my TBR since I saw this on Goodreads. Hopefully, I’ll be able to squeeze this in my crazy TBR.


Which one of these books have you read? I’ll greatly appreciate your recommendations. 😊
And you, what are the popular books you haven’t read yet?  💜

35 thoughts on “Popular books I haven’t read

  1. Niraja @ Fantastic Books and Where to Find Them says:

    I haven’t read the Shades of Magic or Throne of Glass series, either, but I plan on getting to both of them in 2017, along with Nevernight and Everything, Everything (what better motivation than the movie?). I actually started The Raven Cycle about a month ago, and although I didn’t like the first book, I’m currently working on the third one and it’s definitely worth your time. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children simply wasn’t for me; it didn’t have anything particular horrifying, but the eerie, strange vibes just made me uncomfortable, personally. All the Bright Places, on the other hand, was the best book I read last year, and it’s one of those YA contemporaries that manages to be both memorable and meaningful, if not life-changing. Happy reading, and I hope your 2017 is splendid! 🙂

    • Karlaamae - Reads and Thoughts says:

      Thank you so much for a very insightful comment here on my post. I really appreciate it. 😉

      I’m really hoping to read ATBP this year so I can finally relate to my friends & other bloggers who sing praises for this book. 😁 And lemme know if/when you plan to read the Shadebof Magic or TOG series and maybe we can buddy read it. 😉

      Happy reading to you as well!

  2. Lefty Reads (@LeftyReads) says:

    Oooh, there are so many books on this list I haven’t read either. I’m bad at reading popular books, haha! But the Vampire Academy series is my favorite series of all-time. I’m actually currently re-reading the series and it’s still SO GOOD. I hope you do end up continuing it, and I hope you love it if you do! I really need to read The Winner’s trilogy, and the Wrath and the Dawn duology, and Carry On, and the Raven Cycle. Those are all very high on my wishlist right now.

    – Lefty @ The Left-Handed Book Lover

    • Karlaamae - Reads and Thoughts says:

      We share the same sentiment Lefty, I’m really not good in reading popular books as well. 😂

      Wow! That’s great! Though The Vampire Academy is quite long I’m still pretty much interested on how the story ended. Maybe I’ll be able to read it this year. 🤞🏻

  3. ashley says:

    I’ve read Red Queen, Glass Sword, Everything Everything, Missouri Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, Hollow City, and the Percy Jackson series which I was not a fan of at all. I’ll be reading The Wrath and the Dawn soon, and at some point this winter I’ll be reading ADSOM, and AGOS.

  4. Anna - Reader and Proud says:

    I wanted to do a post like this, but mine would be enormous 😅But in my case it’s not a question of binge-reading.
    I haven’t finished any of these series 🙂 Does that make you feel better? I’ve actually read Everything Everything (it’s great ❤️) but that’s not a series. I’ve started a lot of them, but obviously, I haven’t finished them. My main goal for 2017 is to finish some series, which I have on a list. Do you plan on reading all of these this year too?
    Now this is going to be long, since I’m going to mention some of those series (sorry about this):
    -Let’s see, with V.E.Schwab I don’t know which book I should start with. They all look great but I need my first one to be special, I think.
    – I am not as excited for Carry On as mostly everyone else. I liked Fangirl, but I’m not sure about Carry On. I liked that aspect in book 1, but to be honest, I liked that we didn’t know all the story of Simon and Baz, it made it different.
    – I only have one book left to read in the Percy Jackson series but I wanted to reread them, as they’re so enjoyable. It’s not the first time I plan to do that, but this time I’m not marathoning them, so maybe it works.
    -I read the two first books from the Winner’s trilogy last year, so I’m close to finishing it! I’m excited because book 3 is said to be the best, but I’m letting the hype die down a a bit first –
    The same thing happened to me with the Unearthly series! Some day. Also with The Wrath & the Dawn. I love retellings and this one seems so interesting *sigh* And I’ve also read 3 of the VA books haha
    Which one do you think you’re going to read first? Fantastic list, and waiting for some of those reviews 😉

    • Karlaamae - Reads and Thoughts says:

      Yes, it did make me feel better that I’m not the only one who haven’t finished any of these series yet. 😜 I don’t think I’ll be able to finish ALL of these within this year but maybe? hopefully? I’ll do my best to do a proper reading schedule and do everything to avoid reading slump as well. 😉

      — I have only read This Savage Song by V.E Scwab and loved it! The 2nd book will be out this year so that might be a good choice coz you still catch-up.
      — There’s indeed a huge hype and excitement with Carry On but I’ve read very lukewarm reviews about it so I’m still really in between if I’ll still be picking this up.
      –Goodluck to that! Hope you’ll get to finish The Percy Jackson Series and perhaps write a review about it? I’ll definitely check it out if you did.

      I’m thinking of reading All The Bright Places First and the other books that do not belong in a series coz that seems to be easier.

      Thanks for dropping by Anna! You are lovely! 💜

      • Anna - Reader and Proud says:

        I love organization and I keep making TBR and planning some reads but I know I’m not able to follow those, because I’m a mood reader. But it gives you an idea of what you can and cannot do.
        -That’s a good idea! Though all of her books sound great and they all have positive reviews so I hope I like the one I start with. Just checked and book 2 comes out in June, so I definetely have time *happy dance*
        -The good thing about it is that your expectations are low; that might wortk on your favour.
        -I certainly hope I can finish it this year, thank you ❤️
        -That is a fantastic idea! That way you can cross some books from this lists, which you really want to read, and see some progress. I’m still unsure about All The Bright Places myself, so I’ll be waiting for your thoughts!
        Thank you for always replying 🙂 I’ll be looking out for your reviews. I hope you like all of these books!

  5. Esther @ Chapter Adventures says:

    I still haven’t read any of Schwab’s books and I think I’ll wait until that trilogy is all published before starting, just like you. Or maybe I’ll read it for the release date of the third and join the hype 😛
    I read Percy Jackson between 2015 and 2016 and it’s so much fun. I can see why so many people love Rick Riordan’s books. The characters are great, the adventures creative and all the different elements from mythology are presented in a unique way. They are clearly becoming Middle Grade/Young Adult classics 🙂
    And The Raven Cycle is fantastic because of its characters and the writing is unique. The world and the plot are quite remarkable in their own way, but too open ended for my taste. I hope you get the other two soon and enjoy them all 😀

  6. Kayla @ Kdrewkthebookworm says:

    Don’t worry! Besides Carry On, Red Queen, and Miss P’s, I haven’t read any of the fantasy stuff, either. There’s no need to feel ashamed- I haven’t even read TFIOS! I just know all about it already, so I don’t really feel a need to read it. I hope you enjoy all these books when you get to them!😊

  7. Abby Joy says:

    I feel you. I haven’t read the popular books of 2016 except for a few. On your list, I’ve read PJO series, Vampire Academy series, Raven cycle and The Winner’s trilogy. I can assure you that they are all awesome. I hope you get into them because it’s not too late 😀 I badly want to read Wrath and the Dawn series. Maybe this year? *crossing fingers*

  8. bookevin says:

    Girl, you should really get started. I see some YA classics on the list which you should really prioritise. Heh. I am a huge SJM fan and you should know that the ToG series keeps getting better ❤️

  9. miss meia / meiareads says:

    I haven’t read most of the series in this list either so I can feel you. Hope we have the motivation to finally read it!

  10. jkimexploring says:

    At first I was like “I haven’t read any of these either!” But! The ones I have were Miss Peregrine’s (I am a huge horror fan so I loved them, they were more spooky than scary if that makes sense but some of the descriptions in the third book I was like I don’t want to picture that), Red Queen I would suggest reading them all at once, I waited a year between the first and second and it picks up right in the action again and of course I forgot everything, Vampire Academy was more of a high school read for me. I don’t know if I’d be able to get through it a second time or not.
    I keep putting of reading Nevernight so if you want to buddy read it that may be the nudge I need to read it 🙂

  11. alwaysopinionatedgirl says:

    The only solution is to lock yourself in a room with all these books and don’t come out til you’re done! For real though, you need to read Carry On, The Winner’s Curse series and PJ! The PJ series is just a good laugh and always a great one to return back to over the years! Carry On is so cool, it’s got nice references back to Harry Potter whilst also being its own book. (Here’s my review: https://alwaysopinionatedgirl.wordpress.com/2015/10/23/carry-on-review/) The Winner’s Curse series were some of the best books I read last year! Let me know if you decide to read any of them!

  12. theheartofabookblogger says:

    I haven’t Shades of Magic, All the Bright Places, Carry On, Iron Fey, Nevernight, Miss Peregrine’s, The Raven Cycle, Unearthly, or The Winner’s Trilogy either. The Wrath & the Dawn was my favorite read of 2015, but I still need to read The Rose & Dagger!

    -Jordan @ The Heart of a Book Blogger

  13. quirkyfangirlblog says:

    I actually haven’t read any of these books *hides face in shame*, but I’ve had friend nagging me to read Everything, Everything but no matter how hard I try when I want to read I always turn back to Harry Potter no matter how many times people tell me to read something more advanced!

Leave a Reply

