Challenge: 2017 Beat the Backlist Challenge

book-challenge

Happy New Year everyone! It’s the first day of 2017 and what a better way to start this year by challenging myself by joining a reading challenge right?Β πŸ˜‰

The Beat the Backlist Challenge is hosted by Austine from Novel Knight. This challenge is focused on knocking off titles that have been on your TBR for a while, or even ones that get pushed aside for new releases. Over the years, and especially this one, we’ve noticed that new releases are getting more and more attention while our TBRs continue to grow. While we LOVE new releases, we also want to show some of those older titles love too.

This challenge doesn’t have levels or a set number of books you need to read.

YOU set your own reading goal. YOU pick the books. YOU read at your own pace.

The idea here isn’t to make this a competition, but to help you shrink your TBR with a bunch of other people doing the same thing.Β BUT if you’re looking for a little extra motivation for this challenge there is an OPTIONAL CHALLENGE that you can take here.

THIS CHALLENGE WILL RUN FROM JANUARY 1ST TO DECEMBER 31ST, 2017.Β 

That’s right. You have an ENTIRE YEAR to complete your goal.

BOOKS MUST BE RELEASED PRIOR TO 2017

(this challenge isn’t for new releases)

That’s it! Those are the only guidelines!

border

My TBR pile isΒ CRAZY. Joining this challenge will greatly help in making a dent on my TBR pile which gets bigger each year. There are a lot of awesome book releases the past years but some of them I was not able to read as they are being pushed aside to give way to other books.

For now, I’m setting up a goal of 10 books to read for this challenge. These books have been sitting on my shelf for quite some time now and as I scan my shelf looking for books to include for this challenge, they just called on me.

Processed with VSCO with 5 preset

  1. Under the Dusty Moon by Suzanne Sutherland
  2. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
  3. Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed
  4. Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum
  5. Joyride by Anna Banks
  6. Of Poseidon (The Syrena Legacy, #1) by Anna Banks
  7. Of Triton (The Syrena Legacy, #2) by Anna Banks
  8. Of Neptune (The Syrena Legacy, #3) by Anna Banks
  9. Magonia (Magonia, #1) by Maria Dahvana Headley
  10. Aerie (Magonia, #2) by Maria Dahvana Headley

I’ll do a monthly update on this challenge probably included on my Monthly Wrap-Up posts. I’m really having high hopes that 2017 will be a great reading year not only for me but for everyone of us. 😊


Have you joined any reading challenges for 2017? I’m wishing you goodluck on whichever challenge you are joining too.Β πŸ’œ

29 thoughts on “Challenge: 2017 Beat the Backlist Challenge

  1. Aimee says:

    WELL THIS DEFINITELY SOUNDS LIKE A CHALLENGE I NEED TO PARTICIPATE IN. I may or may not have 500 physical books sitting unread on my shelves… Whoops. But new releases are so shiny! πŸ˜„ Anyway, DEFINITELY read Simon (it was ADORABLE), Written in the Stars (feels, feels and more feels! Also a Poc!) and Magonia (LOVE the world and writing). I just bought Aerie yesterday too! ^_^ Good luck and happy reading, dear!

    Aimee @ I Adork You

    • Karlaamae - Reads and Thoughts says:

      WOAH! That’s a lot of books, Aimee. I think this challenge will be a great help in making a dent on those unread book. πŸ˜‰

      I heard a lot of great things about Simon and Written in the Stars and I’m so excited to dive into those books. I started reading Magonia last 2015 but haven’t finished it. πŸ™ Hopefully this year I’ll get to. 😊

  2. Meia says:

    I need this challenge in my 2017!! My TBR is growing every second and I am so pressured to read them all or I’ll fail myself yet again if I didn’t. Thank you for sharing this challenge!

    • Karlaamae - Reads and Thoughts says:

      You’re very much welcome, Meia. You can still sign up for this. Link is on my post πŸ˜‰

      We have exactly the same situation, my TBR is just getting crazier and I feel bad for all those books left unread. I’m hoping this challenge will greatly help us make a dent on those TBR. 😊

  3. Book Freak Revelations says:

    Hi, Karla! Commenting to this post via #Bloghop2017! πŸ™‚

    I’m so excited for you to read both Simon VS and Tell Me Three Things as I’ve read them in the past and loved them both so much! I can’t wait for your thoughts on those titles. Also, send me updates regarding your challenge! I’d love to see you succeed! πŸ™‚

  4. readerandproud says:

    This is a great and helpful challenge. I’ve only read Simon from your list (so excited for the movie adaptation), but I recognize most of them and heard good things.
    You’re already making your way through those books, so yay you! You can definetely do it.
    I wasn’t sure if I should join the challenge because I don’t know what books I would add πŸ€”

  5. Jules says:

    Awesome challenge Karla! I’ve read the first two books of the Syrena series and I liked them both. I still have to read the last one tho. Hope you’ll end up loving all these books! Maybe I’ll this challenge as well hihi

    • Karlaamae - Reads and Thoughts says:

      I just finished the second book and liked it as well. I’m really wondering now what the third book would be about. Hmm .. Anyway, feel free to join this challenge . I think tghe sign-ups are open year-round so it’s never too late. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

