Review: Becoming Chloe by Catherine Ryan Hyde

Title: Becoming Chloe

Author: Catherine Ryan Hyde

Published by: 28 March 2006 | Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

Date Read: 23 May 2016

Rating: 3/5 stars

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Jordy is on his own in New York City, and it’s working fine, until Chloe comes along. She’s 18, blond and pretty. She’s seen things no-one should ever see. She knows the world is an ugly place, and needs Jordy to prove her wrong. Together they hit the road to discover the truth – and there’s no going back from what they find out.

REVIEW

Becoming Chloe is one of the books that have been sitting on my shelf for way too long now. Despite my heavy TBR I find myself that time scouring for back titles and was able to pick this one up.

Becoming Chloe surprised me. Just when I was expecting a typical road trip story, I was given a powerful story about two homeless teens with dark pasts.

“Nothing wrong with the Grand Canyon, nothing wrong with wanting to see the ocean. Nothing wrong with big beautiful things. But sometimes beauty can be some pretty close work.”

Jordy and Chloe’s life is full of darkness, chaos and war. You couldn’t really blame them when all they can see in this life are the negative ones – the ugly ones. From New York to California, they go on a mission to see the beauty of the world around them. They were able to meet good and generous people, see beautiful places and gets more appreciative day by day on the life that they are living.

Jordy oh how I love rooting for Jordy. Despite being on the same poor circumstance as Chloe, he was able lead the two of them on a journey that is literally very hard for two homeless people to do. He remains strong, responsible, and supportive and never fails to uplift Chloe whenever she has her “blue moments”.

Chloe is sweet, bubbly and full of energy on the outside but inside she’s full of secrets from her past. She’s not your typical eighteen year old teen – sometimes she struggles with her emotions that makes me think she’s acting like child but sometimes, her words and thoughts makes her seem wiser than her age.

“Even if this was the only thing I ever did in my whole life, it would be worth having a life just to do this.”

The story was pretty short and actually started a bit slow for me, but as I finished the first page, it has gripped me. Jordy and Chloe are teens thrown together by bad circumstances yet they are able to look on the bright side and beauty of life and just go on.

In all, this story is very empowering and thought provoking. It makes me think that when I feel like I’m experiencing the worst there might be someone out there who are experiencing so much worst than I do, so learn to be strong, find solutions, don’t give up and appreciate all the beauty in life.

Leave a Reply

