Blog Tour + ARC Review + Interview + Giveaway : Ivory and Bone (Ivory and Bone #1) by Julie Eshbaugh

Title: Ivory and Bone (Ivory and Bone #1)

Author: Julie Eshbaugh

Published by: Harper Teen | 07 June 2016

Date Read: 04 June 2016

Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A prehistoric fantasy—with allusions to Pride and Prejudice.

Hunting, gathering, and keeping his family safe—that’s the life seventeen-year-old Kol knows. Then bold, enigmatic Mya arrives from the south with her family, and Kol is captivated. He wants her to like and trust him, but any hopes of impressing her are ruined when he makes a careless—and nearly grave—mistake. However, there’s something more to Mya’s cool disdain…a history wrought with loss that comes to light when another clan arrives. With them is Lo, an enemy from Mya’s past who Mya swears has ulterior motives.

As Kol gets to know Lo, tensions between Mya and Lo escalate until violence erupts. Faced with shattering losses, Kol is forced to question every person he’s trusted. One thing is for sure: this was a war that Mya or Lo—Kol doesn’t know which—had been planning all along.

REVIEW

*ARC Kindly provided by Harper Teen thru Edelweiss for review*

From the beginning, Ivory and Bone intrigued me. With its prehistoric setting/time period and the interesting previews that were given, I was baited. Then I opened the first pages of the book and I was definitely hooked.

Ivory and Bone is one of its kind. It’s not everyday that you get to read a story on a prehistoric setting/time period – with all the tribes and clans and nomadic like type of living.

Aside from the time setting/time period of the book, I was totally hooked on how the story was told which was in the point of view of Kol – one of the main characters. It jumps from 1st and 2nd person point of view. I did have a hard time getting used on how it was told but a few pages after; I eventually got used to it. Kol’s   story telling was so detailed and interesting as he run us through the events that lead them on their current situation. For me, telling a story from two different views can be quite hard because as a reader, it may be quite hard to jump from one to another, but the author did a fantastic job in telling the whole story this way.

The story started quite slow for my own liking. The first few chapters are full of vivid details and description from Kol about their clan and the neighboring forest and seas which I actually find interesting but makes the progress of the story a bit slow. But as the action starts, it will definitely keep you at the edge of your seat. Each chapter will not bore you as there is something that is to be expected at every turn of the page. The total phasing of the story was just moderate – not slow and not that fast as well.

The set of characters that this story has are all so interesting and remarkable. Kol and his brothers, Mya and her sisters, the clan’s people and the other tribes, they all took a huge part on the story. They each left their own marks on me. (Especially the cute little Roon and Lees)

“I cannot let you die, because I cannot face a future without you.”

Of course, there is romance! And my gosh, how I love slow burn romance. I love how despite looking for wife/husband played a huge part of the story it’s not what the story centers about. I really enjoyed the romance part as it gives me additional flutters while reading. Though, I find myself so frustrated on my main ship that all I wanna do is just push them together, get them married and live happily ever after.

There is a love triangle – a little bit – but I’m so happy that my ship is sailed beautifully and the triangle didn’t really work. Lol.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading Ivory and Bone. The writing was beautifully done – detailed and engaging – and really made me feel like I was back on the prehistoric time period with all the clans, forests, meadows, cold seas and wildlife. The world building was just unique and well done. I really commend the author for doing such great research for this book; I know it is not easy to research for this.

So, if you’re looking for something new, unique and awesome book to read, pick this one now.

INTERVIEW WITH THE AUTHOR

  • Where did the idea for Ivory and Bone came from?

I first got the idea for IVORY AND BONE while standing in a museum. I was in London, and the exhibit was about the history of the city of London. I was fascinated by an animated display that showed a view of the city from above. It started in present day, but it scrolled backwards through time. We looked down on Victorian London, then Medieval London, then farther and farther back until there was nothing but an unending stretch of trees. This was 12,000 years ago, so I assumed I was looking at an empty forest, but then smoke began to rise through the trees. It was the smoke of hearth fires. I couldn’t stop thinking about the people who built those fires, and my questions about them led to what became IVORY AND BONE.

  • Which character on this story could you relate the most?

I think that all the characters have a little of me in them. Kol, the main character, is sort of my protective, responsible side. He wants to take care of everyone, and I’m definitely that type of person. Mya, on the other hand, is very private, and there’s a lot of me in her. She’s definitely tougher than I am, though! (They all are. I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t survive a week in their world.)

  • Speaking of characters, which one is your favorite to write or develop?

I don’t think I could choose a single favorite, but I’d say that some of the supporting characters were the most fun to write. Kol is the narrator, and he has three younger brothers. Mya has two sisters and a brother. Plus there are many other individuals that play a part in the story. I wanted each of the minor characters to be distinct, so I worked to give them qualities and traits that would make them memorable. Each of the brothers has his own story, and those were really fun to write.

  • What’s the weirdest thing you have to research when writing this book?

I think some of the strangest things I read about had to do with what archaeologists have found at sites that date back to the stone age—not just bones and stone tools, but even coprolites, which are fossilized human feces.I learned that archaeologists will study coprolites to determine what people ate. I never really thought about fossilized human poop before!

  • If this book would have a theme song, what would it be?

It would have to be a love song about unrequited love. I think “Sometime Around Midnight” by the Airborne Toxic Event might be a good choice.

  • Describe your book Ivory and Bone in six words

It’s a sweeping prehistoric adventure romance!

  • Anything up in the works? Care to Share?

I’m currently working on Book Two of the trilogy. I can’t say too much about it, except that I’m really excited about it!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Julie Eshbaugh is the author of the upcoming Ivory and Bone (HarperCollins, 2016). She used to have tr
ouble staying in one spot, having lived in places as varied as Utah, France, and New York City. Julie eventually returned home to the Philadelphia area, where she now lives with her husband, son, cat and dog. Her favorite moments are when the unexpected happens and she cheers loudest when the pitcher gets a hit.

WEBSITE | GOODREADS | TWITTER | PINTEREST | INSTAGRAM

VEAWAY

Get a chance to win a pre-order of IVORY AND BONE by Julie Eshbaugh (INT) and a pre-order of IVORY AND BONE by Julie Eshbaugh (US Only)
*The international prize will be gifted through Bookdepository while the US Only pre-order will be gifted through amazon.com. So make sure you can receive the copy before entering the giveaway.*
teaser2
teaser1
teaser3
BOOK LINKS
followthetour
ffbc
Leave a Reply

