First Lines Fridays : April 15, 2016

Welcome to a brand-new feature here in Reads and Thoughts : First Lines Fridays!ย Each week, I’ll be sharing the first line of what I’m currently reading to entice, acquaint and maybe buddy read with you right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines? If you want to join the meme be sure to check out Wandering Words, and here are her rules below.

The rules:

  • Pick a book off your shelf (or your current read) and open to the first page.
  • Copy the first few lines, but donโ€™t give anything else about the book away just yet โ€“ you need to hook the reader first.
  • Finallyโ€ฆreveal the book!

So here we go, the first line of what I’m currently reading and from what book it came from.

“His hand is warm on my ย bare back”

Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blakeย 

Hadley St. Clair’s life changed the day she came home to a front door covered in slips of paper, each of them revealing the ugly truth about her father. Now as her family falls apart in the wake of his year-long affair, Hadley wants everyone-her dad most of all-to leave her alone.

Then she meets Sam Bennett, a cute new boy who inexplicably “feels like home” to Hadley. Hadley and Sam’s connection is undeniable, but Sam has a secret about his family that could ruin everything.

Funny and passionate, Suffer Love is a story about first love, family dysfunction, and the fickle hand of fate.


I started reading this last night and was just at the 10% mark. Suffer Love is one of my most anticipated release as well for this year and I’m so excited on what’s in store for me on this story.

You, what are you currently reading? I’m interested to know, let’s chat about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “First Lines Fridays : April 15, 2016

  1. Annika - Hiding Books says:

    Suffer Love sounds interesting! I haven’t actually heard that much about it before – just seen it around! I look forward to seeing what you think once you’re further into the story!
    I LOVE first line Fridays. I might have to start doing this sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Karlaamae - Reads and Thoughts says:

      I actually just finished reading it Annika and its wonderful! (I’ll be posting my review soon) I’m actually into contemporary reads this month so there’s that. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      First Lines Fridays are fun! I’ll be on the look out to your upcoming First Lines Fridays post. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Leave a Reply

