ARC Review : The Outliers (The Outliers #1) by Kimberly McCreight

Title: The Outliers (The Outliers #1)

Author: Kimberly McCreight

Published by: Harper Collins | 03 May 2016

Date Read: 06 April 2016

Rating: 3/5 stars

Synopsis from Goodreads:

It all starts with a text: Please, Wylie, I need your help. Wylie hasn’t heard from Cassie in over a week, not since their last fight. But that doesn’t matter. Cassie’s in trouble, so Wylie decides to do what she has done so many times before: save her best friend from herself.

This time it’s different though. Instead of telling Wylie where she is, Cassie sends cryptic clues. And instead of having Wylie come by herself, Jasper shows up saying Cassie sent him to help. Trusting the guy who sent Cassie off the rails doesn’t feel right, but Wylie has no choice but to ignore her gut instinct and go with him.

But figuring out where Cassie is goes from difficult to dangerous, fast. As Wylie and Jasper head further and further north into the dense woods of Maine, Wylie struggles to control her growing sense that something is really wrong. What isn’t Cassie telling them? And could finding her be only the beginning?

In this breakneck tale of intrigue, betrayal, and deeply buried secrets, New York Times bestselling author Kimberly McCreight brilliantly chronicles a fateful journey that begins with a single decision—and ends up changing everything.

8cf0a-3f7dc-goodreads

REVIEW

*ARC kindly provided by Harper Collins thru Edelweiss for review.*

Outliers is one of those stories that would give you an in-your-face-surprise-explosion because what you would expect after reading its blurb is totally so much more on what you get to read on this book.

Into the first few pages of the story, I did have a hard time really getting into it. It’s actually not the first book that I’ve read with a missing best friend – Finding Paris and Since You’ve Been Gone are good examples of the like – so I know that in the end I should expect something twisty to happen. But what this story has given me as the story progress was beyond what I readied myself for.

Outliers has a plot that seems to thicken on every turn of the page and I actually loved it. I loved the suspense and mystery and anticipation. As I mentioned, I did have a hard time getting into the story on the first few pages but as I go through each page, the story just keeps going and going and I didn’t notice that I’m on my seat hard gripped into the story.

“The point is sometimes it’s not what you believe that’s the problem; it’s how you believe it.”

Nothing and no one is trust worthy on the story.

Just when you thought one thing would happen? No it will not because it will go to the other side and change its course. Just when you thought that that character is a good character? No, he’s definitely not. It left made me crazy thinking who to trust and what   would happen next.

The plot was complex yet still easy to understand. It did confuse me but it was a great addition to the feels of the story. I love how the author was able to keep me guessing until the very last page.

“Things are divided up that what no: Before. After. And in the dark and terrible middle lies my mom’s accident four months ago.”

Another think I liked about this story was the character development. Though I was a bit hesitant with Wylie, I was able to understand her character. While suffering anxiety and getting worse by the death of her mother, she was able to conquer said illness and it did not stop her in trying  to save Cassie – her best friend.

Wylie’s dad was the surprise on this story. I was so surprised that his character would be the most interesting one in here. He’s your typical dad but he’s nerdy. His study of Emotional intelligence was interesting as well. No surprise that it did play a huge part in the story.

Now on to the ending, I never really know this was supposed to be a series so how do you expect me to react after that kind of ending? OMG. I was so crazy with that ending. All along that last chapter, I thought everything’s fine and good because that was usually how the last chapters were – the energy is somewhat stable – and then I turn to the last page and BAM! Surprise. There’s a cliffy. I actually tweeted my reaction on twitter and the author did answer me back that this will be a trilogy. Ack. At least I know I will do get answers soon.

Outliers was a well-crafted story with a lot of unexpected twists and turns.  I love how fast-paced it is and how it kept me at the edge of my seat. Will surely look forward to the next books to come after that ending.

2 thoughts on “ARC Review : The Outliers (The Outliers #1) by Kimberly McCreight

  1. Annika - Hiding Books says:

    I kind of really want to read this! It sounds like something a bit different, and Wylie’s dad sounds pretty cool! And I do kind of like being creeped out and surprised sometimes, so this will go on my list 🙂
    Great review!

Leave a Reply

