ARC Review: Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

Title: Wink Poppy Midnight

Author: April Genevieve Tucholke

Published by: Dial Books | 22 March 2016

Date Read: 13 March 2016

Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.

8cf0a-3f7dc-goodreads

REVIEW

*ARC won thru instagram giveaway*

Where do I event start? In all honesty, I’m having a hard time writing a review for this book. One, I fear that I might unintentionally give spoilers but the majority of it is just that my mind still can’t grasp what I have just read. I’m confounded the whole time just waiting for the other shoe to drop. I’m nervous, feeling all kinds of anxiety and just plainly weirded out.

Don’t let the pretty cover fool you into thinking that this will be your typical fantasy/mystery type of story because it’s not; It’s so much more than that because this is one strange unique book that will definitely twist your mind.

Of course, before jumping into this book I did a simple background check. The synopsis mentioned that this was greatly compared to We Were Liars by E. Lockheart – which is also a book that did disturb me. I did my best to ready myself for all the unexpected everything about this book. But the background check that I did seem to make no sense because I’m still stroked surprised on how this story goes. The pace was so fast, the narrators all so engaging and my mind is literally working on overload.

I find myself sweaty, nervous, feeling all the butterflies in my stomach fumbling with anxiety and my heart frantically beating with nervousness or excitement – I don’t even know! All I know is that while I’m reading this, it got me all mentally worked up.

Every story needs a hero.

Every story needs a villain.

Every story has a liar.

“Who knew there was so much going on inside a small, red-headed girl with strawberry-buttoned overalls?”

Wink is one of the Bell kids who the people dubbed as witches and weirdoes. She’s quite, smart, innocent and lives in the pages of fairytale stories which she loves to share with The Orphans (Her brothers and sisters).

“How could something soft and supple and flawless as Poppy’s skin hide a heart as black as hers? How could it show none of what was underneath, not one trace?”

Poppy is the Queen B. She’s a bully who seeks for everyone’s attention. Despite her extreme mean-streak, I love getting into this character head. Her mind works are so intriguing but I loathe here character. She’s a very effective bully character.

Midnight is stucked up between Wink adnd Poppy. He’s a lonely boy who was left to his father while his mom and step-brother flee to France.

The engaging characters are one of the things I really loved about Wink, Poppy Midnight. The Hero, The Villain and the Liar. Who‘s really who? Each character is not who they really seem. I find myself trusting one but something will happen and I will begin to question that trust. I don’t know what to make out of these characters, but I know that these three characters – no matter how twisty and deep they are – they are awesomely written.

The alternating POV of the characters is another hit-point of this book. I just love getting into the head of the characters. You may seem to get to know them but really you don’t. You weigh in what their minds are weighing in. It’s all so effective because it feels like you’re working along side these characters.

The writing style of the author do fits the story. It was poetic but not in the literal poetry kind of way. I love how the story does not have unnecessary embellishments on it. What is written are just the essentials. Plus the author was able to extend a lot of feels to me as a reader – nervousness, dread and anxiety. The feels are so on point.

I cannot explain more how strangely good this story is. You just have to have your hand around this book for you to know and experience it first hand!!

Despite all the nervousness and anxiety this book has given me I overall loved it. I love the craziness of the story, the characters, the way it was written, the mystery, secrets and even the goose bumping moments.

A strangely good one of a kind book to read.

“Sometimes people just leave, Midnight. They realize they are on the wrong path, or that they are in the wrong story, and they just go off in the middle of the night and leave.”

5 thoughts on “ARC Review: Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

    • karlaamae says:

      Thank you so much! ❤️ This has also been high on my TBR. It was unexpectedly and strangely good. And yes, it is really intriguing. Looking forward on what you think about it. 😉

Leave a Reply

