Review: More Than Him (More, #3) by Jay McLean

18879990Title:  More Than Him (More, #3)
Author: Jay McLean
Published: January 28th 2014
Date Read: February 1st 2014
Rating: 5 stars

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us.” – Marianne Williamson

We live in a world of darkness and shadows,
where monsters hide and aim to ruin.
And they did.
They ruined us and turned our dreams into nightmares.
But now we’re back.
And we’re fighting.
Not just for us, or for each other, but for our light.

e0f7f-addtogoodreadsblack

MY THOUGHTS

With the heartbreaking ending of More Than Her, I was one of those eagerly waiting for the continuation of Logan and Amanda’s story. I mean that couldn’t be the end right?

Logan chose to travel the world.
Amanda was left to pick up and mend the broken pieces of her heart.
Forced to go into different directions, will their love for each other be more than enough?

More Than Him takes us to the separate journey of Logan and Amanda. They both have taken different paths leading them to different realizations about their selves and about what really happened between them.

From the opening of the book I easily felt Amanda’s feelings. Her Anger. Her Pain. Her Loss.

“I remember thinking was that maybe Logan and I were connected somehow, more than just a boy and a girl in love. Maybe our souls were entwined – if he hurt, I hurt. If he stopped breathing, I did too. If he died, maybe I would die with him. But I was alive, I was awake. Which mean that he was, too. But I didn’t see him, he never came for me. He just left.”

I wanted to give her a protective blanket thru the first part of the book because of her – gloomy/robotic state but at some point I realize that she is one of the strongest characters their being able to stand up on what her mind and heart believes. When Logan resurfaced, I thought she would be one of those girl who will get indecisive throwing the guy a bone and giving him a hard time; that didn’t happen. Yes, she questioned and doubt him and her love for him win out and didn’t even waver.

Logan, on the other hand still carries the guilt over what happened to Amanda and their relationship. His time away opened up a lot of things for him – hi, joining Doctors Without Borders, Meeting new People and writing a journal. I questioned his character if he’s really worth it but hearing and seeing what really happened to him and being able to get inside his head makes me understand where he’s coming from. It’s very easy for his character to grow on me – he’s sweet, funny, compassionate, real and amazing, (Ahem! Just like his dad.)

Second-Chance stories are not really new for me. But each and every time I get to read stories about second-chances, I get excited. Well, primarily because I love happy endings and the anticipation on how they would get back together thrill me. But I’m quite picky on how those “getting together” should be done – I don’t want them to simply be together. I wanted to see the journey in getting that happy ending and the very good thing about More Than Him is that the journey to the happy ending of its characters are definitely worth it all. The author gave us an equal amount of angst and anticipation to the lath that leads to Amanda and Logan’s reconciliation.

“In a life full of shadows, and darkness, and monsters, you’re my light. When the blackness fades, and the memories subside, you’ll be there. You’re always there.”

Logan and Amanda’s story is full of moments – loss, sadness, doubt, jealousy, hope and love. When they saw each other again, it didn’t just happen. They both take time to know each other again – growing up, talking and building the friendship and trust they have for one another. Their relationship is imperfectly perfect.

Aside from the two lead characters, it was also nice to see cameos from their gang. Like Jake and Kayla and Cam and Lucy.

In all, I thoroughly enjoy this book; Laughter, tears and love It’s all here. I love how the author able to extend the feels to its readers. What a way to wrap up a wonderful love story. This “More Than” series of Jay Mclean definitely earned one of the top spot of my favorite new adult series. Oh and Jay Mclean, I think you’re getting better and better at giving us ending that leaves us salivating and anticipating for more. I could say you’re really a great tease and I’m looking forward to more from you. *wink*

Haven’t read this series yet? Gah! What are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

