Review: Just One Day (Just One Day, #1) by Gayle Forman

17623975Title: Just One Day (Just One Day, #1)
Author: Gayle Forman
Published: January 8th 2013
Date Read: January 18th 2014
Rating: 4 stars

A breathtaking journey toward self-discovery and true love, from the author of If I Stay

When sheltered American good girl Allyson “LuLu” Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there’s an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left. Over the next year, Allyson embarks on a journey to come to terms with the narrow confines of her life, and through Shakespeare, travel, and a quest for her almost-true-love, to break free of those confines.

Just One Day is the first in a sweepingly romantic duet of novels. Willem’s story—Just One Year—is coming soon!

e0f7f-addtogoodreadsblack

MY THOUGHTS

I always loved stories of travel and road trips – the feeling that you’re with them seeing the places they are seeing, walking along the cobbled path streets, and meeting people. I’m just a plain victim of Wanderlust.

After reading If I Stay and Where She Went, I tried to prepare myself and my box of tissues because this is a Gayle Forman book and that is somehow required and though she didn’t made me cry that much here, she definitely didn’t disappoint.

Just One Day follows Allyson’s overly organized European Tour until something clicked in inside her and she’s forced to rally of her routinely life and just go with the flow of life aka rendezvous in Paris with the Dutch actor, Willem.

“We are born in one day. We die in one day. We can change in one day. And we can fall in love in one day. Anything can happen in just one day.”

Allyson was looking answers and she doesn’t even know what the questions are. Allyson was your typical girl that is socially awkward, shy to speak up her mind; she never crosses the line and always follows the schedule and the plan. Meeting Willem and having that rendezvous in Paris gave Allyson a shove when in come to her growth as a character, we see her as the girl who always follows the rule becoming the girl who escaped to Paris with a guy she barely know to a girl who’s mending her broken heart to becoming a girl who speaks up for herself and do and follow her heart ‘s desire. She is a pretty solid character throughout the story.

Willem on the other hand fascinates me. Willem’s character is like puzzle pieces that doesn’t seem to belong together but when you put them side by side it just makes a complete sense because it worked.98% of the time I’m reading this, I’m left to think what this guy could bring more because he’s like one of those ‘onion’ type of character that have multiple layers and each layer will be a surprise because there is still more to him than more than meets the eye.I’m fascinated by his eagerness to travel and feel lost, his acting and his prowess in speaking several languages.

Shakespeare Plays and Silent Movies are also part of the book. I’m not really a fan of either of the two but one thing for sure is that they piqued my interest. I get lost with the references at times but there isn’t too much of that on the story, so you wouldn’t really get too lost.

The romance is there but I think that is not really the focus of the story.Yes, I would’ve liked to see more of Paris (even a mere mention of The Eiffel Tower), but it feels okay for me because the story is clearly not about the place abut about Willem and Allyson. I enjoyed their little moments.

The thing about Gayle Forman’s book is that it was always set in such a short span of time but a lot happened. Like here in Just One Day, everything happened in really One Day but it feels like a long day already. I have already mentioned this one my review of If I Stay, but I’m still amazed with her way of writing.

Just One Day is another stellar novel from Gayle Forman. It is a good contemporary novel filled with warmth, happiness, inspiration and Wanderlust. Good thing I have the second book on hand, so no more waiting for Willem and Allyson. *wink.*

One thought on “Review: Just One Day (Just One Day, #1) by Gayle Forman

  1. MidnightPageTurners says:

    I always love characters with more depth to them and I’ve heard so many good things about this book, I think I might have to read it soon, thanks for reviewing 🙂

Leave a Reply

