Review: Where She Went (If I Stay #2) by Gayle Forman

8492825Title: Where She Went (If I Stay #2
Author: Gayle Forman
Published: April 5th 2011
Date Read: January 16th 2014
Rating: 3 stars

It’s been three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life.

And three years he’s spent wondering why.

When their paths cross again in New York City, Adam and Mia are brought back together for one life-changing night.

Adam finally has the opportunity to ask Mia the questions that have been haunting him. But will a few hours in this magical city be enough to lay their past to rest, for good – or can you really have a second chance at first love?

e0f7f-addtogoodreadsblack

MY THOUGHTS

Where She Went picks up three (long) years after the first book If I Stay. Adam is now a rock superstar while Mia is a musical virtuoso. In three years, these two have come a long way but what really did transpire between them?

Mia left Adam.
It was the hardest thing that she could do and it did nothing but destroy him and made him write songs – songs that hit off his musical career.

 

“First you inspect me. Then you dissect me. Then you reject me. I wait for the day that you’ll resurrect me.”

 

I gush over If I Stay. My looooong review about it can prove you that and while I enjoy reading its companion novel, I think it felt a little off track as to what I’m expecting, but I’m not saying that I didn’t like the book, I guess it just didn’t reach the feels that I got when I read the first book.

Adam was so much different. Mia’s description of the boy she loved who is willing to do anything for the girl he loves doesn’t give him justice. There is definitely more to Adam Wilde’s life. I don’t know why he’s terrified of fame but one thing that can be easily seen was the hurt he feels inside.

Where She Went is not entirely about Adam’s struggles in losing Mia but it was more on what really happened to him and Mia to cause them to drift apart from one another? I waited long enough and I had my suspicions here and there but when the answers came when in one random night, these two reunited, reconnected and recollected. It felt like the right piece for the puzzle. It makes sense. It seals the deal. It made me see their both side of the relationship.

Yes, there are a lot of heart-tugging moments here and there especially with Adam and Yes, I do like getting into Adam’s thought but I just wish that this book consist more of the present time or the real narrative itself. Flashbacks are okay and yes it build bridges between the thoughts of Anna and Adam but it seems like it dominates the majority of the book that at the end, I find myself not quiet satisfied with how things have gotten. But I do appreciate the little moments they had with each other and reminiscing their early memories.

Where She Went is a good companion novel; it gives us the closure and the happy ever after we’re all longing for Adam and Mia.

4 thoughts on “Review: Where She Went (If I Stay #2) by Gayle Forman

    • karlaamae says:

      Yes, that’s what I also felt giving this book a short rating than the first one. I like Mia on If I Stay, but on the second book her character feels to stoic and I just feel bad for Adam during the duration of the story.

  1. thebookheap says:

    I actually preferred to treat If I Stay as a standalone because I can’t really see the link between the two stories but I’m glad you enjoyed the sequel 🙂

    • karlaamae says:

      That’s tough. But I do also feel that If I Stay can be a stand alone though the ending is really sketchy, creates a whole open ending letting the readers think what Mia has chosen. Haha!

Leave a Reply

