Review: Altered (Altered, #1) by Jennifer Rush

10859509Title: Altered (Altered, #1)
Author: Jennifer Rush
Published: January 1, 2013
Date Read: January 10th 2014
Rating: 3 stars

When you can’t trust yourself, who can you believe?

Everything about Anna’s life is a secret. Her father works for the Branch at the helm of its latest project: monitoring and administering treatments to the four genetically altered boys in the lab below their farmhouse. There’s Nick, Cas, Trev . . . and Sam, who’s stolen Anna’s heart. When the Branch decides it’s time to take the boys, Sam stages an escape, killing the agents sent to retrieve them.

Anna is torn between following Sam or staying behind in the safety of her everyday life. But her father pushes her to flee, making Sam promise to keep her away from the Branch, at all costs. There’s just one problem. Sam and the boys don’t remember anything before living in the lab—not even their true identities.

Now on the run, Anna soon discovers that she and Sam are connected in more ways than either of them expected. And if they’re both going to survive, they must piece together the clues of their past before the Branch catches up to them and steals it all away.

e0f7f-addtogoodreadsblack

MY THOUGHTS

Are you guys aware of the TV Series Beauty and the Beast shown by CW? It has jist about soldiers genetically altered to be like “super-soldiers” to be shipped into war. Well, if you are well aware of that series and have watched an episode or a two, I’m hoping you would see a bit of resemblance of that story to the story of Altered and to those who haven’t seen that series yet, well better start orienting yourself about it. (I loved the series honestly – Cath and Vincent shipper here! lol)

Anyway, I enjoyed reading Altered so much more that I’m expecting. It was an intriguing, fast-paced and the mystery totally hooked me. My curiosity and the boys kept me up all night reading it. *wink* *wink*

Four Boys.
One: Loathes her for no apparent reason.
Two & Three: Her best friends and a very good friend.
Four: The One she’s in love with.

As I have mentioned, the story was fast-paced. At one moment, Anna was just in the kitchen doing stuffs and suddenly she’s on the run with the boys. It’s really a good thing that the author doesn’t take space or time for unnecessary details and just goes straight into the story. I love the twists and turns that this story brought – although some are quite predictable- the whole haunting game and the puzzles that need to be solved gave a great element of surprise for the story. I love how the author gives away clues and it feels like you’re also solving the mystery with the five of them and when things go together leading them from one thing to another, it feels so relieving.

The characterization for the story was okay. They all grew in me as I read it. I like Sam and I like Anna. Separately. Why? Well, it was mainly because I don’t understand all their silent treatments with each other. It feels like they don’t really talk about their relationship with each other. They say things yes, but I find it too shallow especially with the situation they are both in. I need more development from their relationship together for it to really click with me. It totally lacked on the romance aspect.

I honestly like Anna. She looks so vulnerable yet she’s pretty much a bad-ass through the course of the story. She’s not the kind of heroine that’s all pretty all the time. I admire her guts and will to do things and I also can’t help but feel bad for her. Sam was broody and mysterious and you just can’t help but be attracted to his totally mysteriousness but he’s too stoic for me. I don’ know. He has those sweet moments but he doesn’t really excite me much.

The other boys are also likeable, especially Cass. Oh my gosh! The guy is obnoxious, witty, loves food and just fun and pretty much also a bad-ass on the story. Nick may come as the biggest snob of the four but he has his reasons which were also explained later on the story. Trev on the other hand is the type of best-friend for sure a lot of people want to have, he’s loyal and compassionate plus he loves to read. These three brought a lot if unexpected happiness on the story.

Most of the questions are answered by the end of the story which I consider a very good thing but by getting these answers further questions arise which is a good tease for the readers into reading the next book. The fact that the plot comes altogether by the end of the story was like a magic for me. Maybe a bit room for more scientific explanation on why the boys are undergoing could be more helpful since this was a sci-fi read right?

Overall, it was a fun exciting read and good thing; I have the next book on hand so no more waiting. I’m about to dive into the next book.

Leave a Reply

