Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905Title: Fangirl
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Published: September 10th 2013
Date Read: January 8th 2014
Rating: 4 stars

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Eleanor & Park.

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love. 

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan . . .

But for Cath, being a fan is her life — and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

e0f7f-addtogoodreadsblack

MY THOUGHTS

FANGIRL:A rabid breed of human female who is obesessed with either a fictional character or an actor. Similar to the breed of fanboy. Fangirls congregate at anime conventions and livejournal. Have been known to glomp, grope, and tackle when encountering said obesessions.
*Credits to Urban Dictionary*

This book is the bible for all the fan-girls out there. Honestly, I feel like reading my own life story as I’m reading this. I find myself relating on the events on the story a lot of times. I’m gushing over the characters and I’m gushing over the whole story!

This is the first novel by Rainbow Rowell that I have read. Honestly, I’m not into contemporary reads but I pick up a book on that genre from time to time. I can’t help but be amazed on how the author keeps its readers engrossed with the story. The character, wit, and the plot was unputdownable.

Cather and Wren are twin sisters. And they’re both entering the University, navigating to the world of adulthood with each other…until Wren decided to do things on her own.

Cather, the main character is so adorable. She’s strange, shy, likes to keep things to her, socially awkward but she’s totally awesome! She’s so flawed making her more realistic and admirable. Her obsession with Simon Snow was too adorable to handle. I just love her character. She reminds me of myself – except for the too much obsession with Simon Snow. I’m not a fan of fan-fiction but I’m a definite fan-girl in plenty of other ways. Hihi.

Cath’s twin sister Wren, decided that its time for her to do things without her twin sister. She tries to rebel and try new things. I actually don’t like her for most part of the story. I don’t understand how she can easily leave Cath to fend of herself during their first year. Yes, I know she wanted to be independent and stuff, but they’re twin sisters. She sucked for the most part of the story but fortunately, she redeemed herself at the very end.

Reagan was another bright side to the story. She’s Cath’s roommate and despite her dark physical personality, I also like her. Her relationship with Cath was not of your typical friendly type but it works for the both of them. I begin to think that if it wasn’t for her, Cath would lone have quitted college.

Then there is Levi. Wow, I can’t honestly think of a phrase t describe this guy. He’s just so loving and sweet and gentle and patient and understanding and he’s perfect in my own world.

Can I talk about the lovey-dovey romance part of this story? Yay! I know it wasn’t what the whole story was about the romance and love story was just too sweet and fantastic. I totally loved it. The sub-lot with Cath and Wren’s parents add up another twist to the story. I like how the family was also input here.

I’m totally gushing over this read right? So what happened to the other falling star that I didn’t put on my rating? Well, I have several hitches into reading this. One is the whole fan-fiction thing. I’m sorry but I’m really not a fan of it and want into it. I understand Cath’s obsession with it but I just wasn’t very much interested on that part of the story. Second, is that as much as I love driving thru Cath’s adventure, at some pint during my reading time things gets a bit repetitive that I find myself wanted to hurry things up. Lastly, the ending left me uhm somewhat underwhelmed I guess? It was okay, but I’m expecting an ending with a bang; with more impact instead of just like it sort of happened.

Those things aside, Fan Girl was still a very awesome read! It isn’t just a pretty cover and about being fan girl. It’s a story that deals with matured things, growing up and romance and family values. I really enjoyed reading this and for sure will not be the last from Rainbow Rowell.

4 thoughts on “Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. MidnightPageTurners says:

    I just wrote my review on this for the blog now! I loved this book so much but yeah I agree with you on the whole fanfiction part, I ended up skipping those bits ’cause I was so desperate to get on with Cath’s life rather than Simon Snow’s. I completely agree with it not being a fluffy romance, there’s a lot more to the story, great review 🙂

    • karlaamae says:

      Oh My! It feels good to not be the only one feeling that way with the whole fanfiction thing. (I ended up skipping a lot of those parts); I admire Cath’s dedication with it but its not for me. Honestly, until the very end I’m still itching to get more of Cath.

  2. DannyBookworm says:

    I’m so so in love with this book and it was on every of my Top something lists from last year. The romance was so wonderful and sweet and YES you are right Levi was just perfect.

    I honestly could have also lived without the fanfic parts, but I didn’t mind her fangirliness at all:)

    • karlaamae says:

      I also fell in love with this book Danny. I really adore Levi. *wink* I relate with all the fangirliness that I find myself feeling creeped out reading Cath’s story coz it feels so similar with my own fangirliness. Hehe.

      This will definitely not be the first novel by Rainbow Rowell that I will read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

