ARC: White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

17455585Title: White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements, #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published: February 25th 2014
Date Read: January 5th 2014
Rating: 3 stars

One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she’s anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she’s crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she’s not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn’t an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she’s the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

e0f7f-addtogoodreadsblack

MY THOUGHTS

Jennifer Armentrout puts another twist to the world of demons, Wardens, and other dark elements that looms the world. White Hot Kiss is the first installment to her Dark Elements series and I could totally scream at the top of my lungs that it was a stunning series debut that will definitely hook you up from the very first page.

As usual, I was amaze with Armentrout’s world building. I so totally love the eerie world of demons and wardens on the present time where humans are pretty aware of the Wardens. The pacing was pretty perfect, the twists are unpredictable, and the characters are all likeable.

Being a Half Warden-Half Demon hasn’t been very easy for Layla. She’s living in a houseful of Wardens but all of them feared her and wanted her dead coz with just one kiss she can take away their souls. She only wants to live a normal teenage life. Layla was a character that stands on her own; I like her for standing up to her decisions despite the place that she’s into. I like her slaying demons and protecting humans despite her being a half demon. She has a surmountable amount of bad-assery throughout the story. 😉

From the beginning, you could totally see how much she’s in love with Zayne, a very powerful Warden. I like Zane. The thought of him and her having a relationship – relationship somehow excites me but I can’t also seem to rub off the feel that it’s more brotherly-sisterly between them and I don’t know but I have this feel with Danika – Zayne’s mate to be – is an okay character.

I’m not even sorry that I loved a demon / the crowned prince of hell named Roth. With his removable tattoos and endearing pets – bambi, thor and nitro, I can’t help but swoon over him.
Roth was an upper level demon and that is the only thing that makes me a bit hesitant on him. I find myself questioning his true intentions with Layla. Well, he’s a demon and even though Layla’s part demon we can never know what his intentions are – if he’s really helping her or just using her for his own selfish reasons. Despite him showing his demons side, I can’t also help but see a good side to him, plus he’s very witty and smart-mouthed!

I totally dig how this story kept me guessing from the beginning to end. It started with how Layla is going to push down her demons side, with Zayne’s feelings with her and Roth’s motive with Layla. Every chapter was unpredictable and the events are unexpected especially the ending!! I thought that after all the cliffies Jennifer Armentrout gave us on her Lux series, I would already get used to those cliffies, I’m definitely wrong because Whit Hot Kiss’ ending still shocked me.

In all, White Hot Kiss was an awesome opening to a new series! I can’t wait for the next installments and I’m excited for more of Roth! *wink*

PS. Jennifer Armentrout, you’re really awesome!

*ARC kindly provided by Harlequin TEEN.*

One thought on “ARC: White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

