Review: Fracture Me (Shatter Me, #2.5) by Tahereh Mafi

17331518Title: Fracture Me (Shatter Me, #2.5)
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Published: December 17th 2013
Date Read: January 1st 2014
Rating: 3 stars

In this electrifying sixty-page companion novella to the New York Timesbestselling Shatter Me series, discover the fate of the Omega Point rebels as they go up against The Reestablishment. Set during and soon after the final moments of Unravel MeFracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective.

As Omega Point prepares to launch an all-out assault on The Reestablishment soldiers stationed in Sector 45, Adam’s focus couldn’t be further from the upcoming battle. He’s reeling from his breakup with Juliette, scared for his best friend’s life, and as concerned as ever for his brother James’s safety. And just as Adam begins to wonder if this life is really for him, the alarms sound. It’s time for war.

On the battlefield, it seems like the odds are in their favor—but taking down Warner, Adam’s newly discovered half brother, won’t be that easy. The Reestablishment can’t tolerate a rebellion, and they’ll do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam has ever cared about.

Fracture Me sets the stage for Ignite Me, the explosive finale in Tahereh Mafi’s epic dystopian series. It’s a novella not to be missed by fans who crave action-packed stories with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu.

e0f7f-addtogoodreadsblack

MY THOUGHTS

We already heard Warner’s perspective on his own novella [book:Destroy Me|13623150] and now, Tahereh Mafi gave us a chance to also hear the perspective of Adam.

If I still didn’t make myself clear, I’m Team Adam. From the beginning, he captured me spot on. Here in Fracture Me, Why does it feel like the Adam I first known and love in Shatter Me is changing? Why does it feel like I’m losing him? Why does it feel like his character is shifting into a different persona?

I like Warner and I don’t have anything against him, in fact I became torn when I read his own novella and his sudden shift in Unravel Me but it feels like the whole story is really going through Warner’s way, maybe I’m saying this because I’m Team Adam, but honestly, the sudden character shifting are not so subtle right?

Compared to Destroy Me which was told in Warner’s view, I didn’t get much insight here about which really Adam is – where he came from and what is the real story that lies within his character – I need more justification with Adam’s character; like with how Warner’s story was told we get insights about him but why didn’t we get that here with Adam? All I see is a rehash of the war. The only positive thing I see in that is it was shown how incredible his love for his brother James is. Unfortunately, the only positive thing that I saw here was also turned into a not so good thing. I didn’t like how the direction of this novella goes. It feels like the author is making Adam choose between Juliet and his brother. That is so not cool; its one of the toughest choices and it feels just so unfair.

I’m excited for Ignite Me but majorly I’m scared. I’m scared on how this would be concluded. Nevertheless, I’m still hoping that no matter how it all will end and who would end with whom, it will all be worth it.

Leave a Reply

