ARC Review: Three Broken Promises (Drew + Fable, #3) by Monica Murphy

3BPTitle: Three Broken Promises (Drew + Fable, #3)
Author: Monica Murphy
Published: December 31st 2013
Date Read: January 1st 2014
Rating: 4 stars

Breakout New Adult sensation Monica Murphy returns with a hot new contemporary romance—a heartfelt story of second chances, forgiveness, and redemption.

Commitment. That’s what I really want from Colin. Ever since my brother, Danny, died in Iraq, Colin’s done so much to help me, including giving me a job at his popular restaurant so I can leave my crappy waitressing job at the strip joint. But lying in bed with him every night to comfort him from his horrible nightmares isn’t enough anymore. I know he feels guilty about Danny’s death, about not going to Iraq, but I can’t keep living this double life.

I love him desperately, but he’s got so many demons, and if he can’t open up to me now, then he’ll never be the real partner I need him to be. I gave him a month, and now I’m out of here. If he truly loves me like he says, he knows where to find me.

e0f7f-addtogoodreadsblack

MY THOUGHTS

This series is one of those series that will always be on my radar. I fell in love with Drew and Fable’s story on the first two installments of this series and knowing the next one will be about Jen and Colin – my palms are immediately grabby with it. *wink*

Just when I thought Jen and Colin’s story would revolve around your typical lovers/friends kind of drift, I was mistaken. Their story is more than that. It was a story of fears, heartbreak, loss, shame and guilt.

For several years now, Colin has been carrying a sh*tload amount of guilt after losing his best friend Danny on the military – who is also Jen’s brother. From then on, he promised to take care of Jen and rescue her from every horrific situation that comes her way. But what started out as caring because of his twisted sense of guilt developed into more, things just get rougher for Colin.

From the first time I met him in Second Chance Boyfriend, I already find Colin intriguing. And it’s not long before you realize that he’s wearing a mask throughout the story. He’s keeping a lot of things inside his head and letting his demons eat him up. One thing I really like about him is his care and support for Jen never ever falters; His willingness to do just anything & everything for Jen was beyond sweet. He’s her ‘Knight in Shining Armor’. Sigh. If it’s not for him letting his demons eat up a part of his life, everything would just be better.

“I broke promises. To you, to your parents, to your brother. I dont want to break anymore”

Jen is a pretty interesting character. She’s living in a world of shame keeping her fingers crossed that no one especially Colin will know her secret. Jen, on the other hand is trying to break free not because she’s getting tired of Colin but she wanted to start out a life without depending on the person who only stays with her out of responsibility and guilt.

Jen and Colin have an undeniable connection not to mention their intense feelings for each other. They shared a common past which was still loomed with guilt and loss affecting their present lives. They have their reasons for not giving into their feelings, for one their friendship is at high stake, yes, I understand that dilemma but this is also the part that pulls down the whole story for me.

The continuous back and forth between them and their feelings dragged me. There are a lot of opportunities on the story where they could’ve told each other their woes and feelings but they didn’t, they always didn’t acknowledge the biggest elephant in their room. It’s just plain Frustrating. It’s a bit mean but sometimes, I just wish that they would just break it all of, so separate ways because maybe then they will realize their loss and reunite or whatever instead of the frustrating back and forth without communication game that they’re both playing.

Another thing is that there seems to be some unnecessary addition to the story like Colin’s Dad participation and Jen’s future roommate and her boyfriend. It makes sense in a way but it feels too forced since the whole story just focuses on Jen and Colin alone and from the start that’s the vibe you would get.

Three Broken Promises was a great story about overcoming fears, guilt and shame. It didn’t fluff my heart like Drew and Fable did but it was pretty good addition to the series. I’m looking for more build-up to the story and complexity with the characters and though it didn’t suffice what I was expecting for this story, I will still continue to read stories from the author and keep my radar still on for this series of hers.

*Copy kindly provided by Random House Publishing Group – Bantam Dell thru Netgalley*

Leave a Reply

